Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomepoliticsRussia sanctions 9 US officials in response to US sanctions on Russian...

Russia sanctions 9 US officials in response to US sanctions on Russian officials

Russia imposed entry bans Thursday on nine U.S. lawmakers and officials in retaliation to Washington's sanctions over Crimea.

The Russian Foreign Ministry released the list, which includes House Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman Robert Menendez, D-N.J., and Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., as well as other senators and administration officials.

"We have repeatedly warned that sanctions are a double-edged instrument and would hit the United States like a boomerang,'' the Russian Foreign Ministry said. `"There must be no doubt: We will respond adequately to every hostile thrust.''

(Read McCain's tweet here.)

The move came minutes after President Barack Obama signed an order to impose sanctions on more segments of Russia's economy in response to Moscow's annexation of Crimea.

"Diplomacy between the U.S. and Russia continues. We've emphasized that Russia still has a different path available," Obama said. "We want the Ukrainian people to determine their own destiny and to have good relations with the United States, Russia, Europe, with anyone they choose."

- Advertisment -

Most Popular